clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Awards Announced: Stauskas Wins B1G POTY; Beilein Wins COTY From Media

Michigan gets some year end recognition to go along with the conference title.

Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Michigan's Nik Stauskas has won the Big Ten player of the year award, the second Wolverine in a row to walk away with that honor after Trey Burke captured the same a year ago.

This year, however, John Beilein has been honored for his job keeping Michigan in the hunt after losing Trey Burke and Tim Hardaway Jr. to the NBA, followed by losing Mitch McGary late in the non-conference season.  Beilein was a media pick for the award, with the Big Ten coaches honoring Tim Miles of Nebraska.

The press release:

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten men's basketball All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced on Monday, with Michigan's Nik Stauskas earning Big Ten Player of the Year honors from the conference's coaches and a media panel. Michigan head coach John Beilein claimed Coach of the Year laurels from the media while Nebraska head coach Tim Miles was named Coach of the Year by his peers. Indiana's Noah Vonleh picked up Freshman of the Year accolades from the coaches and media. Ohio State's Aaron Craft was named the Defensive Player of the Year while Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes was voted the Sixth Man of the Year by the coaches.

Stauskas takes home the Big Ten Player of the Year award after leading the conference with 13 games of 20 or more points. A four-time Big Ten Player of the Week this season, Stauskas ranked among the top five with 17.0 points per game and a .447 shooting percentage from three-point range in Big Ten contests only. The sophomore earns the fifth Player of the Year award in program history and the second in as many years for Michigan, following 2013 recipient Trey Burke.

Beilein led the Wolverines to their first outright Big Ten Championship since 1986. Michigan boasts a 23-7 overall record and a 15-3 mark in Big Ten play this season, marking the fourth consecutive year that Beilein has guided the Wolverines to a top-four finish in the conference standings. He is just four wins shy of his 700th career victory and five wins away from his 150th victory at Michigan. He collects his first Big Ten Coach of the Year award and the first for a Michigan coach since 1985.

Michigan also saw Derrick Walton Jr. named to the all-Big Ten Freshman team, while Jon Horford was one of 12 sportsmanship award honorees.