clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan Football Well Represented in Big Ten's 2015 Offensive Awards

Jake Butt and Jehu Chesson were named to the first-team.

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The Big Ten's defensive awards for the 2015 season were handed out on Monday, but tonight it was the offense's turn for recognition.

Michigan was well-represented with tight end Jake Butt and wide receiver Jehu Chesson receiving first team honors. Butt was also named the conference's tight end of the year.

He had 48 catches for 620 yards and three touchdowns, while Chesson added 45 catches for 646 yards and eight touchdowns.

Offensive lineman Erik Magnusson was named to the third team by the coaches and media, while Kyle Kalis was named to the third team by just the media.

Ben Braden, Mason Cole, Graham Glasgow, Amara Darboh, Jake Rudock and De'Veon Smith were all honorable mentions.

The Big Ten's Coach of the Year Award went to Iowa's Kirk Ferentz for leading his team to an undefeated regular season and spot in the conference title game. Michigan State's Connor Cook was named the league's best quarterback, while Ohio State's Ezekiel Elliott and MSU's Aaron Burbridge were named the top running back and wide receiver.