clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan Shut Out from Big Ten Basketball Awards and Honors

The Big Ten announced its basketball award winners and All-Big Ten teams this evening, and Michigan was the only school to be shut out.

Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

This evening, the Big Ten announced its basketball award winners, consisting of Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, and Coach of the Year, and All-Big Ten teams. However, not only did Michigan not earn a single honor, Michigan was the only school to be shut out.

Due to the disappointing regular season Michigan had, finishing with a 15-15 record, and the season-ending injuries suffered by Caris LeVert and Derrick Walton, Michigan wasn't expected to contend for many Big Ten basketball honors. In fact, I didn't select a single Wolverine for any of my basketball awards or three All-Big Ten teams. However, the Big Ten tends to hand out a plethora of honorable mentions, so I thought there was a good chance that Zak Irvin, who averaged 14 points and 4.5 boards per game and posted an individual offensive rating north of 100, would receive a nod for honorable mention.

But Irvin was left off the list, and, because the media handed an honorable mention to Rutgers' Myles Mack, who averaged 13.4 points, 4.2 assists, and 4.1 rebounds, and had a similar offensive rating to Irvin, Michigan was the only team not to earn an honor.

And Michigan was shut out one season after it dominated the Big Ten basketball awards, when Nik Stauskas won Player of the Year, John Beilein shared the Coach of the Year award with Nebraska's Tim Miles, LeVert made the All-Big Ten second team, and Walton joined the All-Big Ten freshman team. What a difference a year can make.

Click here to see the full list of the Big Ten award winners and All-Big Ten teams.