clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jim Harbaugh makes Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award watch list

The Michigan coach is one of 23 coaches on the watch list.

NCAA Football: Central Florida at Michigan Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Michigan coach Jim Harbaugh has been named as one of 23 coaches to make the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award watch list. The award recognizes the NCAA football’s top coach.

Harbaugh has coached Michigan to a 6-0 record throughout the 2016 season. He has provided wins over Hawaii, Central Florida, Colorado, Penn State, Wisconsin and Rutgers. After going 10-3 (6-2 B1G) in his first season with Michigan, Harbaugh is looking to take the Wolverines to the College Football Playoff in his second rodeo.

The award was first given in 1986 and is currently held by Clemson coach Dabo Swinney. Former Penn State coach Joe Paterno won the first award. Lloyd Carr is the only coach from Michigan to get his hands on the trophy.

Auburn has taken home the award four times, while Boise State and Penn State have locked it up twice in school history.

The official website states:
“The Paul "Bear" Bryant College Football Coaching Awards is an exclusive event that honors a college football coach whose great accomplishments, both on and off the field, are legendary. The award recognizes the masters of coaching and allows them to take their deserved place in history beside other legends like Bear Bryant.”

Bryant was a longtime coach for Alabama, but died of a heart attack in 1983.