clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jabrill Peppers wins the Lott IMPACT Trophy

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is given annually to college football’s top defensive player on and off the field.

NCAA Football: Heisman Trophy Presentation Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Michigan’s redshirt sophomore linebacker/defensive back Jabrill Peppers was named the winner of the 2016 Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Peppers won the award over Adoree Jackson of USC, Jonathan Allen of Alabama, and Weston Steelhammer of Air Force.

"I'm shocked right now," Peppers said in his acceptance speech. "I thought for sure Adoree Jackson had the home-field advantage. But all these guys up here are well-deserving and I'm just truly honored and blessed to be able to represent this man's name and all he stands for and stood for on the field. I'd like to thank the Lott IMPACT Foundation and God, my teammates and my family, because without those people, none of this is possible. Thank you."

The award is given annually to the top defensive player on and off the field in college football. The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will present a $25,000 check to Michigan’s scholarship fund.

Peppers is the first Michigan player to win the award, which is named after Hall of Fame football player Ronnie Lott.

The superstar finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting, but won the Hornung Award for the nation’s most versatile player and the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year award.


Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia

2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU

2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU

2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

2011- Luke Kuechly, Boston College

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA

2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA

2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State

2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan