clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jake Butt makes CBS Preseason All-American first team

Jake Butt makes the first team, while Jabrill Peppers and Jourdan Lewis earn second team honors.

BYU v Michigan Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

Michigan tight end Jake Butt has made the CBS Sports 2016 Preseason All-American Team as a first team selection. Jabrill Peppers and Jourdan Lewis earned second team honors.

The SEC led the way with 12 players on the first team, while the Big Ten was second on the list with six players. The Big Ten players include Butt (Michigan), Pat Elfein (Ohio State), Dan Feeney (Indiana), Malik McDowell (Michigan State), Raekwon McMillan (Ohio State) and Desmond King (Iowa).

On the second team list, Peppers was not given a position. He was placed between the linebacker and cornerback spot, which are the two positions Peppers will play most this season.

“I’d just say athlete,” Peppers said, regarding his position on the field.

According to Michigan coach Jim Harbaugh, Peppers will carry the load from game-to-game for the Wolverines.

“Around that 90, 95-play, 100 being really high per game, somewhere there’s a sweet spot, depending on the mental capability,” Harbaugh said.

The preseason Player of the Year has been awarded to Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Nick Saban of Alabama is the preseason Coach of the Year.


CBS Sports First Team

QB - Deshaun Watson - Clemson
RB - Leonard Fournette - LSU
RB - Dalvin Cook - Florida State
WR - JuJu Smith-Schuster - USC
WR - Calvin Ridley - Alabama
TE - Jake Butt - Michigan
C - Pat Elfein - Ohio State
OL - Roderick Johnson - Florida State
OL - Cam Robinson - Alabama
OL - Dan Feeney - Indiana
OL - Zach Banner - USC

DE - Myles Garrett - Texas A&M
DE - Jonathan Allen - Alabama
DT - Malik McDowell - Michigan State
DT - Carlos Watkins - Clemson
LB - Raekwon McMillan - Ohio State
LB - Jarrad Davis - Florida
LB - Tim Williams - Alabama
CB - Desmond King - Iowa
CB - Jalen (Teez) Tabor - Florida
S - Derwin James - Florida State
S - Jamal Adams - LSU

K - Andy Phillips - Utah
P - JK Scott - Alabama
KR - Evan Berry - Tennessee
RP - Cameron Sutton - Tennessee
AP - Christian McCaffrey - Stanford

CBS Sports Second Team

QB - Baker Mayfield - Oklahoma
RB - Christian McCaffrey - Stanford
RB - Royce Freeman - Oregon
WR - Christian Kirk - Texas A&M
WR - Corey Davis - Western Michigan
TE - O.J. Howard - Alabama
C - Brian Allen - Michigan State
OL - Dan Voltz - Wisconsin
OL - Mike McGlinchey - Notre Dame
OL - Mitch Hyatt - Clemson
OL - Conor McDermott - UCLA

DE - Derek Barnett - Tennessee
DE - DeMarcus Walker - Florida State
DT - Eddie Vanderdoes - UCLA
DT - Lowell Lotulelei - Utah
LB - Devonte Fields - Lousiville
LB - Reuben Foster - Alabama
LB - Anthony Walker - Northwestern
__ - Jabrill Peppers - Michigan
CB - Jourdan Lewis - Michigan
S - Budda Baker - Washington
S - Marcus Maye - Florida

K - Daniel Carlson - Auburn
P - Austin Rehkow - Idaho
KR - Rashaad Penny - San Diego State
PR - William Likely - Maryland
AP - Adoree Jackson - USC