clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derrick Walton Jr. wins 2016-17 Michigan basketball Most Valuable Player

Derrick Walton Jr., Zak Irvin, Moritz Wagner, D.J. Wilson, and others received awards for the 2016-17 season on Wednesday night.

NCAA Basketball: Big Ten Conference Tournament Final-Michigan vs Wisconsin Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

On Michigan’s annual team banquet night, Derrick Walton Jr. took home four awards, the biggest honor being the Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Award winner.

Along with the MVP award, Walton won the Thad Garner Leadership Award, along with senior Zak Irvin, the Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting, and the Gary Grant Award for Most Assists.

Michigan won 12 of its last 15 games, with Walton leading the way. The Wolverines claimed the Big Ten Tournament championship for the first time since 1998. In the end, Michigan was 26-12 on the season and made a run to the NCAA Tournament Sweet 16.

Irvin, who won the Thad Garner Leadership Award, also won the Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player Award, sharing it with Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman.

The Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player Award was shared by D.J. Wilson and Mortiz Wagner, who both declared for the 2017 NBA Draft this week. The duo were very limited in the 2015-16 season, but strived this past year.

Wilson also won the Loy Vaught Rebounding Award and Wagner won the Morgan/Bodnar Academic Achievement award for his 3.35 grade point average at Michigan.

Sean Lonergan, a walk-on, won the Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award. Mark Donnal, who is headed to a different school for his fifth year as a graduate transfer, earned the Iron Man Award.

Xavier Simpson, a freshman point guard, won the Steve Grote Hustle Award. Simpson came off the bench and played hard in all 38 games.

Duncan Robinson, a sharpshooter, won the Sixth Man Award for coming off the bench and providing an impact from deep for the Wolverines.