clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan runs out of gas, gets downed by Villanova in title game

Michigan didn’t have enough offense in the tank and the Wildcats couldn’t miss. Game. Set. Match. Point Nova.

NCAA Basketball: Final Four Championship Game-Michigan vs Villanova Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

After winning 14 consecutive games, the Michigan Wolverines storied NCAA Tournament run finally ran out of steam.

Villanova defeated the Wolverines 79-62 to be crowned the National Champion. U-M finished it’s season 33-8 overall.

U-M is now 1-6 in national title games. This was the second time they have made it in six years under Beilein.


Wagner made his presence felt early, scoring nine of U-M’s first 11 points capped off by a triple. The Wolverines led by three.

After a 1-and-1 from Gillepse for VU, U-M led by just one-point (21-20) at the seven minute mark of the first half.

Donte DiVincenzo, who had 16 first half points, hit a triple followed by an and-one bucket to give VU the 30-26 lead. There was 3:59 remaining in the opening half.

The National Player of the Year Jalen Brunson hit a long 3-ball to extend the Wildcats lead to 37-28. That was the score heading into the locker room.

U-M didn’t score for the final 3:34 of the first half, VU went on a 7-0 run over that span.

To open the second half, it was more Wildcats and not much Wolverines.

They went on a 6-2 run forcing a Beilein timeout and they held their biggest lead at 44-30. The Wolverines weren’t getting stops.

It didn’t get any better. Nova rolled to a 15-point advantage with 15:24 remaining.

The Wolverines cut the lead down to 12 points nearing the eight minute mark, but DiVincenzo drained back-to-back triples to put VU up 62-44. It essentially iced the game away.

Abdur-Rahkman led U-M with 23 points in his final game as a Wolverine. Wagner was right behind him with 16 tallies. Simpson added 10 points, respectively.

U-M went 3-of-23 from deep. They also allowed 12 offensive boards for the Wildcats.

This was VU’s second national title in the last three years.