clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Opening betting odds revealed for 2024-25 College Football Playoff National Championship

The Wolverines are not the top team for next year, according to the oddsmakers.

NCAA Football: CFP National Championship-Washington at Michigan Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

After a season full of unprecedented challenges, unexpected turns and a ton of resiliency, Jim Harbaugh and the Michigan Wolverines are the national champions of college football for the 2023 season.

As is tradition, oddsmakers have already put out their opening odds for who will take home the crown next season. Unsurprisingly — given how much roster turnover there very well could be this offseason — the Wolverines are not the top spot; that belongs to the Georgia Bulldogs with +450 odds, according to DraftKings Sportsbook.

After Georgia is Alabama (+600), Ohio State (+800), Texas (+900), and THEN the Wolverines at +1,000. Also listed with odds are Oregon at +1,100, LSU at +1,400, Ole Miss at +1,600, Florida State at +1,800 and Clemson at +2,000.

There is much to sort out this offseason in Ann Arbor. Will head coach Jim Harbaugh be interested enough in a job in the pros to leave for the NFL? What about the assistant coaches? And will J.J. McCarthy and other key juniors return for one more season or declare for the 2024 NFL Draft?

But when it comes to other teams around the country — Georgia should be in front due to a lot of their players — including quarterback Carson Beck — coming back next season. Alabama will have some attrition, but return Jalen Milroe at the quarterback position and continue to have the GOAT at head coach. Finally, Ohio State … do we really think Ryan Day will win the natty as a third-base coach?

With all that said, it is WAY too early to be looking ahead to the 2024 college football season, especially in this day and age with the transfer portal. No one truly knows what to expect come September, so your guess is as good as anybody’s — including the oddsmakers — when it comes to the next CFP national championship team.