clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan DC Don Brown named a finalist for the Broyles Award

Honor goes to the nation’s top assistant coach.

NCAA Football: Michigan at Michigan State Brad Mills-USA TODAY Sports

While Jim Harbaugh tends to soak up all the attention, there are many Michigan Wolverines coaches that have contributed to the program’s resurgence.

One of those is defensive coordinator Don Brown, who has earned some recognition by being named a finalist for the Broyles Award.

Here are all five remaining candidates:

Alabama – Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Clemson – Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Colorado – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Pittsburgh – Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Brown has some tough competition, as four of the finalists are defensive coordinators. Michigan’s defense is ranked second in the country in yards allowed per game, behind only Alabama.

The Broyles Award goes to college football’s top assistant. It was established in 1996 to recognize legendary Arkansas coach Frank Broyles, who was known for producing top assistants.

The 2016 Broyles Award winner will be announced next Tuesday, Dec. 6. Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley was the winner of the 2015 Broyles Award.