clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Devin Bush named finalist for Nagurski Award

The junior linebacker is trying to be the first Wolverine to take home the honors since Charles Woodson in 1997.

Michigan v Michigan State Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Junior linebacker Devin Bush is now a finalist for the Nagurski Award, which is awarded to the nation’s best defender.

The trophy is given by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, and is named after former All-American Bronco Nagurski, a former University of Minnesota defensive end and NFL Hall-of-Famer for the Chicago Bears.

Bush has totaled 49 tackles, including seven for loss, so far in 2018. Additionally, he has four sacks and two pass deflections.

He joins a long list of Wolverines on the awards circuit, including Karan Higdon for the Doak Walker, Shea Patterson for the Davey O’Brien (among others) and Lavert Hill for the Jim Thorpe.

Bush is trying to become the first Nagurski winner at Michigan since Charles Woodson in 1997.

The winner will be announced Dec. 3 in Charlotte, NC. The keynote speaker for the luncheon will be Jim Harbaugh.