clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shea Patterson announced as semifinalist for Davey O’Brien Award

Patterson’s now being recognized for his individual efforts

NCAA Football: Maryland at Michigan Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

After a dominating three-game win streak over ranked conference teams, Michigan’s got the recipe for a Big Ten Championship appearance if they win out.

What’s been missing in recent years is a talented quarterback to lead the charge, but things are different in 2018, and it seems each week the team is the best they’ve been under Jim Harbaugh, quarterback included.

The Davey O’Brien semifinal list was announced on Wednesday and one of the 16 quarterbacks is Michigan’s Shea Patterson.

The 6-foot-2 Toledo, Ohio native has impressive stats through nine games with a balanced offense that features an improved offensive line and solid run game.


  • 134/200 attempts (66% comp.)
  • 1667 total yards, 206 yard ave./game
  • 14 touchdowns
  • 3 interceptions


  • 186 yards, 81-yard long run
  • 2 touchdowns

The semifinal list in alphabetical order:

  • Ian Book (Notre Dame)
  • Mason Fine (North Texas)
  • Ryan Finley (NC State)
  • Jake Fromm (Georgia)
  • Will Grier (West Virginia)
  • Dwayne Haskins (Ohio State)
  • Justin Herbert (Oregon)
  • D’Eriq King (Houston)
  • Trevor Lawrence (Clemson)
  • Jordan Love (Utah State)
  • Marcus McMaryion (Fresno State)
  • McKenzie Milton (UCF)
  • Gardner Minshew (Washington State)
  • Kyler Murray (Oklahoma)
  • Shea Patterson (Michigan)
  • Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama)

This award is given to the best quarterback in the country and is the nation’s oldest, most prestigious national quarterback award.

What is unique about this voting process is five-percent of the vote total come from the fans at each level. The three finalists will be released on November 19 and the winner announced on December 6.

You can vote for Shea Patterson here.

Follow on Twitter: @DavidRNoe/@MaizenBrew