clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Several Wolverines named to Bronko Nagurski watch list

New, comments

Some of Michigan’s best on defense were named to the watch list.

Minnesota v Michigan Photo by Dave Reginek/Getty Images

The Football Writers Association of America released its full watch list for the 2018 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, and five Michigan Wolverines made the list.

Cornerback Lavert Hill, linebacker Devin Bush, Viper Khaleke Hudson and defensive ends Rashan Gary and Chase Winovich all made the watch list.

The award is given to college football’s top defensive player of the season.

The full list has 97 players on it. The final five will be announced Nov. 14 and the winner is announced Dec. 3 at the Bronko Nagurski Award banquet; Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh will actually be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

The Big Ten had 15 representatives on the list, the second-most only behind the SEC with 16.

It’s hard to tell because the list is so damn big, but I’m fairly certain Michigan has the most players on the watch list of any team. A couple teams come close (like Clemson with four) but I don’t see another team that has at least five guys.

All in all, this is just another thing to talk about before the season begins. All these things won’t matter once the season starts. So let’s bask in this while we can as football takes forever to return to us.

Also, these watch lists have absolutely no love for my guy David Long. They’ll know him soon enough.