clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rashan Gary and Chase Winovich make Ted Hendricks Award watch list

The defensive end duo continue making preseason lists. This time, it’s for the country’s top defensive end.

Michigan State v Michigan Photo by Leon Halip/Getty Images

Another day. Another watch list for Rashan Gary and Chase Winovich.

The Wolverine duo were among the 36 players in the early running for the 2018 Ted Hendricks Award, which was released on Monday by the Ted Hendricks Foundation.

The Hendricks Award — name after the NFL Hall-of-Famer — is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive end, as voted on by a selection committee that includes national media members, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners of the award.

Gary tallied 66 tackles, including 12 for loss, six sacks and a forced fumble as a sophomore starter, earning him first-team all-conference recognition from the coaches. The former 5-star and current “freak” according to Bruce Feldman is due for an outstanding season (potentially his last).

Winovich is entering his fifth year after also garnering first-team All-Big Ten honors last season. He led the Wolverines in both tackles for loss (18) and sacks (8.5) to go with 73 tackles. He’s four sacks away from entering the top-10 list for sacks at Michigan, and 21 away from the all-time leader Mark Messner.

Either Gary or Winovich looks to join Lamarr Woodley as the lone recipient of the Hendricks Award. Woodley snagged the trophy for the dominant 2006 defense.

Other Big Ten ends on the watch list include Ohio State’s Nick Bosa, Penn State’s Shareef Miller and Michigan State’s Kenny Willekes, among others.