clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan Football’s All-Decade Team results and winners

The votes are in from the readers at Maize n Brew.

Iowa v Michigan Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Last week, we put out voting for Maize n Brew’s All-Decade team for Michigan football and you guys did not disappoint. Thousands of votes came in to sound off on the guys that fans felt deserved to be included on our best-of list.

The criteria was simple. It just had to be players that were on the team in the last decade (sorry to the folks who wrote in Chad Henne, Mike Hart, Charles Woodson and...Ohio State for some reason?).

So without further ado, I give you the best of the Wolverines from 2010-19:

Quarterback: Denard Robinson (2009-12)

This was a massive victory for Robinson with 74.1 percent of the total votes. Not surprising given his star power and that he was on the cover of NCAA 14, the final edition of EA Sports’ college football game (for now).

Running Back: Karan Higdon (2015-18)

This one was sort of a blowout as well with Higdon receiving 54.7 percent of votes from the readers here. The next highest were Fitzgerald Toussaint at 23.6 percent and DeVeon Smith at 16.7 percent.

Wide Receivers: Jeremy Gallon (2009-13), Devin Funchess (2012-14) and Amara Darboh (2012-16)

Funchess led all wideouts in votes, followed by Gallon and Darboh. There was a late push for Nico Collins in place of Darboh, but he held onto his lead when voting closed.

Tight End: Jake Butt (2013-16)

The biggest no brainer on the list. Next.

Offensive Tackles: Taylor Lewan (2009-13) and Mason Cole (2014-17)

Cole had moved around a bit in his college career, but we had to find a place for him somewhere and with the interior stacked in this one, we decided to give him the nod at tackle seeing as that’s where he began his career.

Interior Offensive Line: David Molk (2007-11), Graham Glasgow (2011-15) and Ben Bredeson (2016-present)

The push for any of these three to not make it was never there. Bredeson and Glasgow had well over 70 percent of the votes, while Molk sat at 52.3 percent. Cesar Ruiz was the next highest at 44.5 percent.


Defensive Ends: Frank Clark (2011-14) and Chase Winovich (2014-18)

Winovich was a no-brainer here for most fans with 77.3 percent of the votes. Clark got the nod by a decent margin at 43.5 percent despite Taco Charlton, Rashan Gary and others on the list.

Defensive Tackles: Mike Martin (2008-11) and Maurice Hurst (2014-17)

Hurst had nearly 90 percent of the votes thrown his way, while Martin had 48.7 as the next-highest vote getter.

Linebackers: Jake Ryan (2011-14), Jabrill Peppers (2014-16) and Devin Bush (2016-18)

There was a decent amount of competition in this category but these three ran away with it. Bush was on 98 percent of the ballots, while Peppers and Ryan were at 84 and 69 percent each, respectively.

Cornerbacks: Jourdan Lewis (2013-16) and David Long (2016-18)

Lavert Hill pushed for Long’s spot here, but other than that this was all Lewis. 94.6 percent of the voters had him as one of the two corners on the ballot.

Safeties: Jordan Kovacs (2008-12) and Delano Hill (2013-16)

Kovacs led all safeties in voting at 56.8 percent. Hill was behind him at 51.4 percent. The next highest was Josh Metellus, who was on 32.7 percent of the ballots.

Special Teams

Kicker: Kenny Allen (2012-16)

Punter: Will Hart (2016-present)

Return Specialist: Jabrill Peppers (2014-16)

There was not any significant competition in any of these categories. All well-deserved, it seems like.

What did your ballots look like? Sound off below!