clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Michigan defenders named to Bednarik Award Watch List

Two key players in Michigan’s secondary make this watch list

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 29 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl - Florida v Michigan Photo by Michael Wade/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Two of the cornerstones in the Michigan secondary have made the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, cornerback Lavert Hill and safety Josh Metellus.

Metellus record 48 tackles (29 solo) in 2018 while also hauling in 3 interceptions. Metellus play earned him associated press All Big Ten first-team honors.

Hill had an impressive 2018 in his own right, shutting down receivers aplenty. Hill’s play led to him being a unanimous All Big Ten first-team selection, being a Jim Thorpe Award semifinalist, and being selected as a associated press All-American (third-team).

Other Big Ten players named to the watch list include Michigan State LB Joe Bachie and DL Kenny Willekes, Purdue LB Markus Bailey, Minnesota DE Carter Coughlin, Northwestern LB Paddy Fisher and DE Joe Gaziano, Iowa DE A.J. Epenesa, Penn State DE Yetur Gross-Matos and LB Micah Parsons, and Ohio State DE Chase Young.

The semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced on October 29th